Chicken Fiesta Tacos

Sunday afternoons are made for napping. In order to have maximum nap-time, I’m always trying to find recipes that are easy, fast, and require very little cleanup. Yesterday’s Chicken Fiesta Tacos went over very well. So well, in fact, Jared went back for thirds! Here is the recipe:

2 large cans cooked and shredded chicken

1 can diced tomatoes and green chilies

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 can whole kernel corn

1 package mild taco seasoning

1 tsp. lime juice

1 tsp. dried cilantro

1 tsp. garlic salt

black pepper to taste

IMG_5080

notice all my ingredients are Great Value brand….

Throw all these ingredients into a large skillet or a heavy pot, stir together and heat to simmering. Meanwhile, shred up some mild or sharp cheddar cheese….

IMG_5082

nothing beats the taste of freshly grated cheddar!

Spread some sour cream on your soft taco shells.

IMG_5084

 You could also add some avocado and chopped lettuce if you love green stuff like I do.

When your taco mixture is warm, drain out the excess liquid, throw it on the taco shell with some of the cheese, and Wa-La! Chicken Fiesta Tacos! I would have taken a picture of my finished taco, but I was hungry and ate them instead. This recipe was a big hit with my husband, and my kids didn’t turn their noses up at it either.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment